Many states in Australia restrict entry of Victorian visitors. Violators will be subject to high fines or imprisonment

△The border between Victoria and New South Wales Signage

On July 1, local time, as the outbreak of Victoria in Australia continued to deteriorate, other states in Australia have introduced response measures to avoid being affected by the outbreak of Victoria.

On the 1st, officials from the Department of Health in New South Wales, Australia’s most populous state, said that although the state’s borders have not been closed, visitors from Victoria’s epidemic hot spots are never welcome.

New South Wales Governor Hazad announced that people from Victoria’s epidemic hotspot area will be banned from entering the country and will be fined A$11,000 (equivalent to approximately RMB 54,000) for violations. Or 6 months' imprisonment. In addition, South Australia, which has better control of the epidemic, was originally scheduled to open its border to Victoria on the 20th of this month. It was postponed indefinitely. Queensland has also imposed strict penalties on Victorian residents who have left the country illegally and strengthened border control.

The Victoria epidemic has continued to deteriorate recently. On the 1st, 73 newly diagnosed cases of COVID-19 in the state. As of the afternoon of June 30, there were 2159 confirmed cases in the state. (Headquarters reporter Wang Cong)

Source: 央视新闻客户端

Sign In or Register to comment.